From 1 March 2020, you must comply with RoHS when exporting to the Eurasian Economic Union!

Monday, 11 November 2019

The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) consists of the following countries: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia. The new regulation EAEU TR 037/2016 ban the use of the same 6 substances (lead, cadmium, mercury, hexavalent chromium, polybrominated biphenyls and polybrominated diphenyl ethers) as in the first EU regulation.

EAEU TR 037/2016 opens up for using 2 compliance routes. Both in-country testing of all homogenous materials in the product or use of the QA system based on Standards EN 50581 or IEC 63000.

The check for compliance will be performed both on the Market by Market Surveillance officers and at the border by Custom officers. The border check will be done by verification that the product has been uploaded to the EAC database.

Nemko estimates that the number of products that need CoC or DoC for RoHS before 1 March 2020, will be several hundred thousand products.

Nemko has been working hard to find solutions for our customers, to avoid the products being stopped at the border.